“Just Pray About It”

By: Tyler Farr

I don’t know what it is exactly that irks me about the phrase “Just pray about it” or some other variation. I understand that it is an encouragement designed to remind me that God is listening and that he will provide the answers. It is supposed to be a phrase that directs me toward God rather than being self-reliant. However, it makes me want to do the exact opposite. When someone tells me to just pray about it when I am having a problem, I just want to say, “Well just because you said to, now I’m not going to.”

What needs to be realized in this situation is that praying is a natural, and expected part of my faith. Don’t get me wrong, I do pray in my everyday life. But when it comes to a decision that I am trying to make, or an outcome I am hoping for, I tend to rely on what I can do in this situation rather than what God has planned for me. In Psalm 3:4-6 it says:

So you will find favor and good repute in the sight of God and man. Trust in the LORD with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight…

This is a struggle. I want to be free from relying on my parents and others because I am growing up. I want to be able build a life for myself when I leave college. That’s why I hate when people tell me to pray. This verse, however, is a gentle reminder that I cannot go at this alone. The phrase needs to be a reminder of the importance of praying and relying on the Lord. I have to remember that I will always need God, no matter the circumstance. So when someone tells me to “Just pray about it,” like my mom just said on the phone not 20 minutes ago, it is a gentle reminder that I am not alone. And not only that I am not alone, but also that I can’t do everything alone. I need to rely on him.

I still don’t like the phrase, but the Psalms remind me that the phrase is more than just something people say to get under my skin. Instead, I need to lean on God and just pray about it.

One thought on ““Just Pray About It”

  1. […] “Just Pray About It” […]

Join the conversation

