The Problem of Forward Thinking and Pinterest

By: Abbie Goldschmid

This image probably shows up in your browser history quite often.

This image probably shows up in your browser history quite often.

Too much forward thinking quickly turns into obsession.

Ahh, Pinterest. It’s where I go when I’m bored, stressed, happy, feeling crafty, or just in need of a good mental vacation for five minutes (that’s Pinterest minutes, so that really means an hour and a half).

When I first started my Pinterest account, I immediately started the “Wedding Board.” Granted, I didn’t even have a boyfriend at the time of my first pins. I was just “planning ahead;” making sure I was all ready for whatever the future might bring.

Even with all of my preparation, I still had to create an entirely new Pinterest board entitled “More-realistic-for-my-real-wedding” (that’s really what it’s called, go follow me) after I got engaged. My plans weren’t exactly fitting two years later. Bummer.

The thing about Pinterest is it feeds this innate desire in every human being to plan and know the future. We think we can look at a few pictures, pin them to a board, and one day our life will look that way.

“Oh, but I’m just getting inspiration!” “It’s just pinteresting. That’s all.” “Don’t judge me. You do it too.”

Sorry you had to listen to those inner protests of my brain, but maybe they were close to what you were saying to me. Pinterest is great, and believe me, I’m not saying “go delete your account” (I’m sure not deleting mine anytime soon. I have a new apartment to decorate, for crying out loud!). My only point is that we need to keep in mind that “too much of a good thing quickly turns into a bad thing.” Too much forward thinking quickly turns into obsession.

I believe it’s only a matter of time before Pinterest turns every bride-to-be into a raging bridezilla because of the “affordable wedding favors” pins that will really cost you like 35 bucks a piece. It’s making our expectations as humans way too high. Sometimes I look around my house and sigh and wonder, “Why can’t my house look the way they do on Pinterest?” Oh, right. Because I’m a college student that makes enough for rent and food and nothing else, and art has always been my worst subject.

Don’t let things like daydreaming, Pinterest, or even Google images start influencing your expectations. It’s going to make life seem a lot more unfair than it already is. Give it a break; find a new hobby that will lower expectations. Go start a new Netflix show or something; those six seasons will keep you busy for a day or two.

One thought on “The Problem of Forward Thinking and Pinterest

  1. James Payton says:

    Managing expectations is something I think gets easier as you get older. That’s what I am finding anyways. Like with any good thing its easy to go overboard. Its easy to take the good in pintrest and go crazy.

Join the conversation

