Johnny Cash was probably better at being romantic than you

By: Tom Westerholm

Just a quick note that you should probably be aware of if you like being choked up and incredibly warm and happy at the same time. Read the following while listening to “I’ll Follow You Into the Dark” by Death Cab for Cutie (or, perhaps more appropriately, this masterpiece) for the full effect.

From the popular “Letters of Note” Tumblr account:

On March 1st of 1968, Johnny Cash married June Carter. They remained together until her death 35 years later. Below are two notes, both written by Cash — the first to June in 1994 on the occasion of her 65th birthday, and the second shortly after her death in 2003.

Johnny Cash passed away two months later, four months after his wife. Transcripts follow:

[…] Once in awhile, like today, I meditate on it and realize how lucky I am to share my life with the greatest woman I ever met. You still fascinate and inspire me. You influence me for the better

[…] (After June’s death) I love June Carter, I do. Yes I do. I love June Carter I do. And she loves me.

But now she’s an angel and I’m not. Now she’s an angel and I’m not.

There’s more. Go check it out. It’ll make you very very happy and very very sad. I’ll give you a minute to finish pretending that it’s dusty so you can grab a tissue and wipe your watering eyes. Who is cutting an onion? Stop it.

I’m not going to try to make some convoluted tie-in to Christian culture. Love is awesome, God is love, God is awesome, you know the drill. I just really liked these notes. Sue me.

Join the conversation

