The Downfall of Doing

By: Abbie Goldschmid

“If you quit now, you’ll be a quitter for the rest of your life.”

I’ve heard that phrase countless times, and it followed me into my college experience. I like…no…I LOVE the idea of being able to do absolutely everything there is to do without quitting or ever saying “no.” I’m paying money to be here; I want to get the most out of it.

But with this mentality of “doing” comes an undeniable and practically irreversible stress level. I am constantly on edge, constantly busy, and constantly about to pull my hair out. Why do I like doing again? Maybe I like the gratification of feeling like Super Woman or maybe I just like not being bored. Whatever the reason is, I still can’t seem to cope with all that college expects of me. This is my second year; I’m supposed to have a grip on it by now.

Until this semester, I had never felt the need to drop a class. Then it happened. Not because it was too hard, but because I just have so much to do I knew I wouldn’t be able to get it all done, much less done well. So, I sent the cute little apology email to my professor, told him I’d bring the form by his office, and I pushed send—only to step away from the computer with an immense feeling of guilt.

I was a quitter. I just bailed on something because I was too stressed. I’m such a baby.

We hear all the time that the Bible says that rest is important, but when it really comes down to it, who wants to quit? Who really wants to be known for being lazy? The answer is simply: no one.

Mark 6:31 was the first verse about busyness that actually resonated with me. And He [Jesus] said to them, “Come away by yourselves to a lonely place and rest a while.” For there were many people coming and going, and they did not even have time to eat.

I rarely get to the cafeteria to eat during my week. I’m just too busy worrying about other things to worry about a basic need: food. Jesus might also say there is no need to worry about food anyway, but I should probably work on figuring out a time to actually fill my growling stomach.

While quitting is a humbling process, it is not necessarily a bad one. We are not “super,” and we physically cannot do absolutely everything. College is about finding out where our priorities are and developing the maturity to know where our limits are. Unfortunately, I had to learn where my limits are through a few very stressful weeks.

On the bright side, I actually get to eat dinner now.

Join the conversation

