Mars Hill Church: “8 Things to Convince You of a Man’s Character”

By: Tom Westerholm

Me, every time. As far as you know.

I saw this and found myself intrigued. See, I’m engaged, and I was curious if my wife-to-be had thought of any/all of these things when she settled for someone way below her league she said yes to my proposal.

Many of you are, I would imagine, either in relationships or interested in being in one in the future. So how can you decide if the person you are with (or interested in being with) has strong enough character to be with you?

I won’t tell you all eight of their points because I don’t want want to leech page views that obviously (here’s the link: go read the whole thing for yourself), but I had thoughts on a few of questions that a woman should ask.

#2. Who does he follow?

Obviously, the writer believes that the partner (in this case a man) should solely follow God, and she is quite correct. I, however, find that I’m more likely to follow Christopher Nolan or Boston Celtics point guard Rajon Rondo. I mean, have you SEEN “The Dark Knight Rises”? Have you SEEN Rondo through a no-look cross court pass?

Following God can be difficult. We have a lot of distractions that keep us from solely looking to Him for guidance. What happens when the man finds himself distracted by other parts of life?

Swing and a miss for my fiancée on that one. I better keep her from reading this post.

#5. What does he fear most?

NO NO NO NO KILL THEM WITH FIRE THEN BURN DOWN NATURE RIGHT NOW

Oh man. Cockroaches. Amirite, guys? Cockroaches are the WORST. They are all legs and antennas and hissing like little demons. Worst of all, THEY CAN’T BE KILLED. YOU CAN’T DROWN THEM, YOU CAN’T CUT OFF THEIR HEADS, YOU CAN’T EVEN DROP AN ATOMIC BOMB ON THEM, FOR CRYING OUT LOUD. THEY ARE SATAN’S LITTLE HELPERS, AND THEY WANT TO CRAWL DOWN YOUR THROAT AT NIGHT AND EAT YOUR SOUL.

*Ahem*

I guess my point is that cockroaches are Satan, and thus I fear Satan. That’s a pretty good answer, right? Put one in the win column, thanks very much.

#7. Is he humble? 

Of course I’m humble. Literally, I’m the best at being humble. Ask anyone. I’m AWESOME at being humble.

In all seriousness, this is an interesting post, and I would encourage you to go read it. But I would like to point out a couple of things before you do:

  1. Is it possible that the author offers unrealistic expectations? Yes, if you find a man who does all eight things, you should lock him up immediately. But no man is perfect. If you find someone you love and who loves you, is it good enough for you both to work toward these eight things in your relationship, if you aren’t there at the moment?
  2. How do you measure these points? I understand that to see who a man follows, you can check to make sure he is reading his Bible consistently and attending church. But how does one show that he loves God more than his significant other (sorry, I just gave away #4)? That seems like a difficult point to prove.

I, of course, am far from an expert on relationships or Christian theology or, quite frankly, anything besides the aforementioned Rajon Rondo and being snarky on the internet, so all of these points are simply things I’m curious about. Please feel free to discuss them with me in the comments below.

3 thoughts on “Mars Hill Church: “8 Things to Convince You of a Man’s Character”

  1. […] piece is a written response to 8 Things to Convince You of a Man’s Character and Tom Westerholm’s response. You may want to read those posts before perusing this […]

  2. Really good points. I don’t have anything profound to say, but thanks for sharing.

  3. […] theme here at Cardboard, I present to you a post based on the issue contained in a response to a post responding to an article posted on a different website. Follow that? Good. Your prize is an imaginary golden […]

Join the conversation

