Bible Journaling: It’s Not So Hard, After All

By: Tyler Lehmann

Bible journaling is a great way to get more out of the time you spend in Scripture. Even so, the very thought of journaling is enough to make some people cringe.

But keeping a Bible journal doesn’t mean you have to be the next Hemingway. Here’s a simple four-part model to help you start your Bible journal.

1. Summary

I always write a summary of the passage I’m reading. Why? Because it forces me to read it carefully. Summarizing forces your brain to sort out the facts and determine the most important elements of the story.

2. Key Verse

I like selecting one specific verse to chew on. I’ll copy down the verse, then write a reflection on it. I’ll write about why it stood out to me or how it gave me fresh insight something.

3. Themes

Ask yourself what ideas the story teaches about. Is the story about temptation? Trust? Forgiveness? As you read more and more, you’ll see how the same themes connect different passages throughout the entire Bible.

4. Application

Finally, put it all together to understand how the story applies to you personally. If you were you inspired by a character’s faith, ask yourself what he or she would do in your shoes.

I use this format for all my Bible journaling because it helps me uncover the meaning of the passage I’m reading. It’s an extremely useful tool. Pick a passage and try journaling with this model, and let us know in the comments if this method works for you!

One thought on “Bible Journaling: It’s Not So Hard, After All

  1. Jess says:

    This is really practical and helpful! I’ve used it once and I plan on using it again as I study the Bible every day. Thank you for sharing this!

Join the conversation

