“Politically correct people hate the Name of Jesus”

Franklin Graham

In his tirade against political correctness, Franklin Graham overlooks this philosophy's foundation in compassion.

By Tyler Lehmann

Get a load of that headline.

Those words come from the Billy Graham Evangelistic Association in an article on its website. Written by president and CEO Franklin Graham, the article berates political correctness as “one of the most sinister and menacing threats to our society today.”

Graham’s unbridled tongue insists our nation’s leaders are “infected” with political correctness and “now stand for absolutely nothing.” He assails PC as the “insidious” sentiment of “offending no one (except Christians).”

I hope I’m not the only one who finds this attitude alarming.

I hate to burst Graham’s bubble, but I am politically correct and in fact do not hate the Name of Jesus. For me, political correctness isn’t a denial of my faith. It’s actually quite the opposite.

Take a look at this more accurate definition of political correctness from Princeton University’s WordNet language database: “avoidance of expressions or actions that can be perceived to exclude or marginalize or insult people who are socially disadvantaged or discriminated against.”

PC is all about putting others first. Confused why this makes Graham all hot and bothered? Yeah, I am, too.

My efforts to be politically correct stem from the love I know God has for all people. By speaking of others and acting toward them in ways that respect and include them, I am seeking to honor them as God’s creation.

Note that I’m not advocating we abandon our beliefs, as Graham seems to think political correctness entails. God does call us to be witnesses to our neighbors, after all, but this doesn’t mean we can just thoughtlessly dismiss others’ sincerely held beliefs.

At the end of the day, PC boils down to this: be considerate of others. Is this really too much to ask, Mr. Graham?

I am a Christian, and I am politically correct. Share your thoughts on PC in the comments below.

2 thoughts on ““Politically correct people hate the Name of Jesus”

  1. I agree with you, Tyler. I think if Graham shared this definition of political correctness, he would view it differently. There are two aspects I’m wondering about. First, the quote about “offending no one (except Christians)” suggests to me that this sentiment is founded in the belief that Christians are victimized in political and academic circles, and the attitude of that statement makes me think that it is rooted in fear. Fear that Christians one day won’t have a voice and will be excluded from mainstream culture. As long as things like this (Cardboard!) are around, I doubt that will happen.
    Second, maybe what gets some Christians about PC is that we are always told that the Gospel is offensive. I don’t think this means that we are supposed to offend people in sharing it, but that not everybody is going to like us. We are told in Romans 12, “As far as it depends on you, live at peace with everybody.” I am wondering if PC makes this more possible. It’s possible that PC could become so careful that it excludes everything meaningless in order not to offend, but that day has not come yet, and until it does- and even after that- I’d like to keep in perspective this clearer definition of PC and how it intersects with our faith. Thanks for your thoughts!

  2. Robin Thomas says:

    You could not be more wrong, and you are totally clueless as to what PC actually is. You might want to do some research on cultural marxism, The Frankfurt School, etc.

Join the conversation

